During the Late Devonian, deposition in the Cantabrian Mountains was largely controlled by movements along faults. By way of intermitting subsidence of the area south of the Sabero-Gordón line and the connected progradation of the coast during the Frasnian and early Famennian, three regressive sequences were deposited. On account of these sequences the Nocedo Formation is divided into three units. Before the late Famennian transgression, after which the upper part of the Ermita Formation was deposited, the area was peneplained. Six facies maps show the changes in palaeogeography during the Late Devonian.