The comprehensive overview of Neogene lithostratigraphy in the eastern Netherlands dates back to the mid-1970s. In the present study, continuous gamma-ray logs and in situ sediment core samples from six boreholes in the area allowed palynological and mollusc analyses and wireline log-based correlation. These investigations were aimed at updating and revising the existing Neogene lithostratigraphy within the Stratigraphic Nomenclature of the Netherlands by integrating litho-, bio-, and sequence-stratigraphic approaches. The analytical results yielded the establishment of new holo- and lectostratotype sections, together with cross-border interregional correlation. The lithostratigraphic revision resulted in the modified definition of the Aalten, Eibergen and Delden members and the definition of two new proposed members: the Dale and Doetinchem members. The Ticheloven bed, removed in earlier studies, is proposed to be reinstated, and the Stemerdink Bed is upgraded in its hierarchical status to the Stemerdink member. All lithostratigraphic units are included in the present Miocene subdivision of the Groote Heide and Diessen formations, which include three recognisable unconformities: the Early-Miocene Unconformity (EMU), Mid-Miocene Unconformity (MMU) and Late-Miocene Unconformity (LMU). The new, revised, reintroduced and existing local lithostratigraphic units and sequences are discussed with their counterparts in the south and southeast of the Netherlands, in Germany and Belgium, and from this a regionally consistent framework has emerged of the regional Neogene lithostratigraphy.

, , , ,
Geologie en Mijnbouw

Released under the CC-BY 4.0 ("Attribution 4.0 International") License

Staff publications

Munsterman, Dirk K., Van den Bosch, Maarten, Wesselingh, F., Helwerda, M., & Busschers, Freek S. (2024). A proposal for an updated and revised stratigraphical framework of the Miocene in the Achterhoek (eastern Netherlands). Geologie en Mijnbouw, 103(e7). doi:10.1017/njg.2024.3