Alangium sect. Rhytidandra is confined to SE Asia, the Pacific and East Australia, and contains 13 species. Five species, viz. Alangium brassii, A. glabrum, A. gracile, A. guadalcanalense, and A. velutinum are described as new, whereas A. villosum subsp. solomonense is raised to specific rank: A. solomonense. Subspecies tomentosum formerly in A. villosum is transferred to another species and has become A. polyosmoides subsp. tomentosum. Finally Iodes ferruginea, described in Icacinaceae appeared to belong in Alangiaceae, and as the name ferruginea was occupied in Alangium it is changed into A. strigosum, nom. nov. A key to the species is presented, and the concerned taxa are enumerated, referenced, described, and two are figured.

, , , , , ,
Blumea: Biodiversity, Evolution and Biogeography of Plants

Released under the CC-BY 4.0 ("Attribution") License

Naturalis journals & series

de Wilde, W. J. J. O., & Duyfjes, B. (2017). The species of Alangium section Rhytidandra (Alangiaceae). Blumea: Biodiversity, Evolution and Biogeography of Plants, 62, 75–83. doi:10.3767/000651917X695443