Three sections with a total number of four species of the genus Phyllanthus have been examined. The pollen grains show a strong resemblance to each other and also the taxonomic arguments to differentiate between the three sections proved to be rather weak. Because of both palynological and taxonomic reasons the sections Ceramanthus Baillon, Cluytiopsis Mueller Arg. and Anisolobium Mueller Arg. have been united into one section; viz. section Ceramanthus Baillon s.l.