The delimitation of genera in the Campanulaceae, especially in the subtribe Campanulinae, meets with serious difficulties. Linnaeus (1753, 1754) distinguished 3 genera: Campanula, Phyteuma, and Trachelium. In A. de Candolle’s (1830) monograph of the family 334 species were recognized, classed in 21 genera. Species of 12 of these genera had formerly been included in Campanula. Yet the genus Campanula still appears too inclusive, and the delimitation of some other genera is open to dispute. Not only the delimitation of genera presents serious difficulties, there is also no common opinion on the arrangement of the genera in tribes. The more important systems are those of Schönland (in Engler and Prantl, 1894) and of Fedorov (1957). Schönland arrived at the following subdivision of the Gampanuloideae: Campanuleae, Pentaphragmeae, and Sphenocleae. In the present paper only the first of these tribes will be taken into consideration. The tribe Campanuleae was divided by Schönland into three subtribes: Campanulinae (Adenophora, Canarina, Heterocodon, Mindium (= Michauxia), Ostrowskia, Symphyandra, Phyteuma, Trachelium, Legousia, Campanula, Perocarpa), Wahlenberginae (Codonopsis, Edraianthus, Jasione, Wahlenbergia and 13 other genera), and Platycodinae (Platycodon, Microcodon, Musschia). Fedorov (l.c.) divided the subfamily Campanuloideae into 8 tribes: I. Campanuleae (Campanula, Symphyandra, Brachycodon, Adenophora, Popoviocodonia, Astrocodon), II. Peracarpeae (Perocarpa), III. Ostrowskieae (Ostrowskia), IV. Michauxieae (Michauxia), V. Phyteumateae (Phyteuma, Asyneuma, Sergia, Cryptocodon, Cylindrocarpa, Legousia), VI. Wahlenbergieae (Wahlenbergia, Codonopsis, Platycodon), VII. Edraiantheae (Edraianthus), VIII. Jasioneae (Jasione).