The drynarioid Polypodiaceae consist of about 30 usually epiphytic species confined to the Palaeotropics. They belong to Drynaria (c. 16 spp.) and a number of smaller genera, e.g. Aglaomorpha, Merinthosorus, or monotypic ones, e.g. Drynariopsis, Holostachyum. The generic delimitations as well as the phylogenetic relationships of the taxa are part of a project on the Systematics of the Polypodiaceae carried out in Utrecht. New Guinea is of special interest for the drynarioid ferns because nine species occur on that island (see table 1). Of these seven were found during a recent trip in Papua New Guinea made by myself in 1983 in cooperation with Mr. J.R. Croft (LAE), Rev. N.E.G. Cruttwell (Goroka) and Mr. R.J. Johns (Unitech, Lae). Visits were made to the Eastern Highlands (Goroka, Mt Gahavisuka Provincial Nature Park and Mt Michael, 25 km East of Lufa) and the Morobe Province (Aseki Divide, 60 km West of Bulolo; Boana, 50 km Northwest of Lae; Gumi, 45 km West of Bulolo; Kaiapit; Kaisinik, 25 km South of Wau; Lae; Bulolo, the Bulolo Valley and the hot water springs 10 km East of the town; Mt Kaindi; Mt Missim, 25 km Southeast of Bulolo; Mt Susa, 10 km Southwest of Bulolo; Mumeng; Oomsis, 20 km West of Lae; Wampit, 40 km Southwest of Lae; Wau).