Entomophthoromycota is one of six major phylogenetic lineages among the former phylum Zygomycota. These early terrestrial fungi share evolutionarily ancestral characters such as coenocytic mycelium and gametangiogamy as a sexual process resulting in zygospore formation. Previous molecular studies have shown the monophyly of Entomophthoromycota, thus justifying raising the taxonomic status of these fungi to a phylum. Multi-gene phylogenies have identified five major lineages of Entomophthoromycota. In this review we provide a detailed discussion about the biology and taxonomy of these lineages: I) Basidiobolus (Basidiobolomycetes: Basidiobolaceae; primarily saprobic); II) Conidiobolus (Entomophthoromycetes, Ancylistaceae; several clades of saprobes and invertebrate pathogens), as well as three rapidly evolving entomopathogenic lineages in the family Entomophthoraceae centering around; III) Batkoa; IV) Entomophthora and allied genera; and V) the subfamily Erynioideae which includes Zoophthora and allied genera. Molecular phylogenic analysis has recently determined the relationships of several taxa that were previously unresolved based on morphology alone: Eryniopsis, Macrobiotophthora, Massospora, Strongwellsea and two as yet undescribed genera of Basidiobolaceae.

, , , , , , , , ,
Persoonia - Molecular Phylogeny and Evolution of Fungi

Released under the CC-BY 4.0 ("Attribution") License

Naturalis journals & series

Gryganskyi, A. P., Humber, R. A., Smith, M. E., Hodge, K., Huang, B., Voigt, K., & Vilgalys, R. (2013). Phylogenetic lineages in Entomophthoromycota. Persoonia - Molecular Phylogeny and Evolution of Fungi, 30(1), 94–105.