The genus Pseudohiatula, based on hymeniform structure of epicutis with interspersed dermatocystidia or trichodermial-palisadic structure without dermatocystidia, contains species, all belonging in the same tribus (Marasmieae), but does not seem to be sufficiently homogeneous to be maintained sensu lato. It is now restricted to the type species (P. cyatheae), and P. callistosporioides is united with Cyptotrama macrobasidium in the genus Cyptotrama; P. irrorata and P. panamensis (perhaps also P. ohshimae) are referable to Hydropus (where species with projecting dermatocystidia and with muricate pleurocystidia should be admitted); P. conigenoides, esculenta, stephanocystis, and tenacella are placed in a new genus, Strobilurus, and P. cinnamomea in another new genus, Physocystidium.