Twenty-two species of Mortierella are described and distributed over the sections defined by Gams (1970) which include the following new species: Section Pusilla: M. roseo-nana; Section Alpina: M. globalpina and M. polygonia Section Simplex: M. amoeboidea; Section Hygrophila : M. elongatula, M. kuhlmanii, M. parazychae, M. armillariicola, M. selenospora, M. basiparvispora, and M. clonocystis; Section Spinosa: M. epicladia, M. acrotona, M. cystojenkinii, and M. fimbricyslis.