Twenty-five species of Hygrocybe are described, illustrated and discussed, including 10 new species, namely H. globispora, H. keralensis, H. gregaria, H. griseoalbida, H. corallina, H. lobatospora, H. brunneosquamulosa, H. aurantiocephala, H. smaragdina and H. aurantioalba. Two new varieties are proposed, viz. H. nivosa var. pallidolutea and H. apala var. indica. The new combination Hygrocybe deceptiva is proposed. A key is provided for all described taxa.