In Malesia there are 25 taxa of Eragrostis (Gramineae, Chloridoideae, Eragrostideae), incl. Ectrosiopsis (Ohwi) Jansen. Eight, perhaps eleven species are introduced. Eragrostis balgooyi Veldk. is here described as new. Eragrostis amabilis (L.) Nees is the correct name for E. tenella (L.) Roem. & Schult. The combination E. elongata (Willd.) Jacq. has been applied to at least eight taxa ranging from Sri Lanka to Australia, and the younger synonym, E. diandra (R.Br.) Steud., is used here.