Twelve species are recognized of which five (P. womersleyi, P. brassii, P. hooglandii, P. schoddei. and P. clemensae) are described as new. Nine species are reduced to synonymy (P. warburgii, P. puberula, P. myriantha, P. paniculata, P. parvifolia, P. acuminata, P. habbamensis, P. pulchra and P. dallmannensis). All twelve species occur in New Guinea, only one (P. arfakiana) extending westwards into Sulawesi. P. incana, P. gracilis and P. hypargyrea may also occur in Queensland in addition to the three species already described from Australia.