Tristania R. Brown, Aiton’s Hortus Kewensis (2nd Ed.) 4 (1812) 417, was established with three species — T. neriifolia, T. laurina, and T. conferta. A number of other species have since been added to the genus and a recent study (Wilson, 1971) has shown that the three original species belong to three different groups and further that these groups are sufficiently different to warrant their separation at the generic level. All of the New Caledonian species belong to the Tristania laurina group. It has not yet been decided which of the groups should retain the original generic name, but if the T. laurina group is not selected the name Tristaniopsis Brongniart et Gris, Bull. Soc. Bot. Fr. 10 (1863) 371, would become available for it. Six species are currently recognised in New Caledonia where they mostly grow at low elevations in scrub and forest on ultrabasic rocks. Species of the same group are found in Australia, New Guinea, Borneo, and probably elsewhere in Malesia.