The Talaud Islands are forming part of the Malay Archipelago, being situated north of Celebes and the Moluccas, south of Mindanao and east of the Sangihe group, between 3°45’ and 5°35’ N. lat. and 126°32’ and 127°10’ E. long. The main group consists of three larger islands, viz. Karakelong, Salebaboe and Kaboeroeang. The Nenoesa islands, a group formed by the small islands of Garete, Karaton, Merampi, Mengkopoe, Intata, Kakelotan and Maroh are situated northeast of the main group, including also Miangas (Palmas), an islet about 65 miles north of Karakelong, near Mindanao.