In the course of a study on Indo-Malesian Ebenaceae currently being carried out in the Oxford Forest Herbarium, it has been discovered that four species previously accepted as Diospyros do not belong to that genus and must be excluded from the family. They are as follows. 1. Diospyros addita Fletcher, Kew Bull. (1937) 386. — Type: Put 3109 (K, ABD). Is reduced to Vatica philastreana Pierre (Dipterocarpaceae). The fruit is shallowly three-lobed and has a persistent five-lobed calyx. It contains a single large seed the bulk of which consists of four massive cotyledonary lobes. Fletcher mistook the cotyledonary lobes for four separate seeds.