Rousettus amplexicaudatus (Geoffroy, 1810) is divided into three subspecies according to size: R. a. amplexicaudatus, R. a. infumatus (Gray, 1870), and R. a. brachyotis (Dobson, 1877). Cynonycteris minor Dobsou, 1873 is synonymized with R. a. infumatus; Rousettus stresemanni Stein, 1933 with R. a. amplexicaudatus; and Rousettus amplexicaudatus hedigeri Pohle, 1952 with R. a. brachyotis. Geography and dimensional variations of the recognized subspecies are discussed. R. amplexicaudatus is recorded for the first time from Celebes, Kisar, Mentawai, Muna and Ndao. The subspecific status of specimens from Celebes, Muna, Peleng and Talisai is left undecided. Other Rousettus species are discussed in so far as they are known to be sympatric with certain R. amplexicaudatus populations: R. leschenaultii (Desmarest, 1820) — recorded for the first time from Bali and Simeuluë —, R. celebensis Andersen, 1907, and R. spinalatus Bergmans & Hill, 1980 — of which a fourth specimen, from a new locality on Borneo, is described. Some dental anomalies and some ectoparasities are listed.


Released under the CC-BY 4.0 ("Attribution") License

Naturalis journals & series

Rookmaaker, L. C., & Bergmans, W. (1981). Taxonomy and geography of Rousettus amplexicaudatus (Geoffroy, 1810) with comparative notes on sympatric congeners (Mammalia, Megachiroptera). Beaufortia, 31(1), 1–29.