Holoplanktonic Mollusca collected from c. 60 localities in Cenozoic (Eocene-Ypresian to Miocene-Serravallian) rocks of the Aquitaine Basin (southwest France) are represented by 75 taxa: five supposed Heteropoda (Pterotracheoidea) and 70 Pteropoda (69 Thecosomata, one Gymnosomata). All Heteropoda and 19 species of the Pteropoda had to be included in open nomenclature or with a query. Twelve species of pteropods are described as new to science: Heliconoides daguini sp. nov., H. merlei sp. nov., H. pyrenaica sp. nov. and Limacina? vegrandis sp. nov. from the Ypresian; Creseis antoni sp. nov. and Vaginella gaasensis sp. nov. from the Rupelian; Clio lozoueti sp. nov. and Clio vasconiensis sp. nov. from the Chattian; Diacrolinia cluzaudi sp. nov., from the Aquitanian; Creseis roesti sp. nov. from the Aquitanian/Burdigalian; and Heliconoides mermuysi sp. nov. and Creseis tugurii sp. nov. from the Early Burdigalian. Neotypes are designated for Diacrolinia aquensis, D. orbignyi and Vaginella depressa. The Aquitaine Basin assemblages are correlated with the existing holoplanktonic mollusc zonation for the North Sea Basin. Zones 9 (Ypresian), 10 (Lutetian) and 11/12 (Priabonian) could be recognised in the Aquitaine Basin Eocene, zones 15a (Rupelian) and 16b (Chattian) in the Oligocene, and zones 17 (Aquitanian-Burdigalian), 18 (Late Burdigalian), 18a (Langhian) and 19 (Serravallian) in the Miocene. Zone 17 could be subdivided on the basis of occurrences observed in the Aquitaine Basin, into three subzones, 17a (Aquitanian), 17b (earliest Burdigalian) and 17c (middle Burdigalian). Des mollusques holoplanctoniques collectés dans environ 60 localités du Cénozoïque (Eocène-Yprésien à Miocène-Serravallien) du Bassin d’Aquitaine (sud-ouest de La France) sont représentés par 75 taxons: cinq Heteropoda (Pterotracheoidea) supposés et 70 Pteropoda (69 Thecosomata, une Gymnosomata). Tous les Heteropoda et 19 espèces de Pteropoda ont dû être laissés en nomenclature ouverte ou comportent un doute. Douze espèces de ptéropodes sont décrites comme nouvelles pour la science: Heliconoides daguini sp. nov., H. merlei sp. nov., H. pyrenaica sp. nov. et Limacina? vegrandis sp. nov., de l’Yprésien; Creseis antoni sp. nov. et Vaginella gaasensis sp. nov., du Rupélien; Clio lozoueti sp. nov. et Clio vasconiensis sp. nov. du Chattien; Diacrolinia cluzaudi sp. nov., de l’Aquitanien; Creseis roesti sp. nov. de l’Aquitanien/Burdigalien; et Heliconoides mermuysi sp. nov. et Creseis tugurii sp. nov., du Burdigalien inférieur. Des néotypes sont désignés pour Diacrolinia aquensis, D. orbignyi et Vaginella depressa. Les assemblages du Bassin d’Aquitaine sont corrélés avec la zonation de mollusques holoplanctoniques existant pour le Bassin de la Mer du Nord. Les zones 9 (Yprésien), 10 (Lutétien) et 11/12 (Priabonien) ont pu être reconnues dans l’Éocène du Bassin d’Aquitaine, les zones 15a (Rupélien) et 16b (Chattien) dans l’Oligocène, et les zones 17 (Aquitanien-Burdigalien), 18 (Burdigalien supérieur), 18a (Langhien) et 19 (Serravallien) dans le Miocène. La zone 17 a pu être subdivisée sur la base des occurrences observées en Aquitaine en trois sous-zones, 17a (Aquitanien), 17b (Burdigalien basal) et 17c (Burdigalien moyen).

, , , , , ,
Scripta Geologica

Released under the CC-BY 4.0 ("Attribution") License

Naturalis journals & series

Cahuzac, B., & Janssen, A. (2010). Eocene to Miocene holoplanktonic Mollusca (Gastropoda) of the Aquitaine Basin, southwest France. Scripta Geologica, 141, 1–193.